On the Road … and Back Home Again!

A couple of weeks ago I attended the National Training Conference for A Girl & A Gun Club.  This was my second year in attendance, as a shadow and range safety officer to my mentor, Kathy Jackson (Cornered Cat).  This is a rather large production with 250 participants and well-known instructors from all over the country.  There are instructors from nearly all disciplines of the shooting sports.  There were classes for competitive shooting, precision rifle and pistol, shotgun sports, 3 gun, self-defense, ammunition reloading, hand to hand,  archery and more!

There are so many things to love about this event, but I think my favorite thing is that the organization makes it possible for women old and new to shooting to get exposure to all of the facets of the shooting sports that they could possibly be interested in.  I don’t know of any other organization off the top of my head that I can say this of.  I think that this is an amazing service that is provided to the members of this organization.

While at the conference, I got to meet many women from all over and hopefully I got to help to make a difference in their lives.  I know that many of the women that I got to work with made a difference in my life!  I left the conference with a sense of contentment (and exhaustion).  I was reminded of the “why”.  The “why” it is that I do what I do in this crazy industry of firearms training and self-defense.  I am not in this business because it is sexy.  I am here because I have a gift to help others learn that personal safety doesn’t have to be scary, or weird, or look like paranoia.  I am here to help everyday ordinary people to have the tools that they need to keep themselves and their loved ones safe. That is why events like this are so important!

I am happy to have been a part of this and look forward to what next year’s conference holds!

Carry On, Ladies and Carry On, Colorado!

20150417_184344

Here I am with the new Glock 43. Finally a Glock that fits me!

20150419_145030

We met this guy at the retreat center. He was not too keen on having his photo taken.

Leave a Reply

