She did what?!

Today, I want to address the story that just came out in the news.  You  know, the one that everyone is talking about.   I want to talk about the Michigan woman who shot herself while adjusting her bra holster (according to reports).  This is a very tragic and sad story.  My thoughts and prayers go out to the family of the victim.

I am not sure if this story has gained so much steam on social media because this involves a bra holster or not, but I have not yet ruled out that theory.  I have seen a ton of comments about this so here is my take.

For those of you who don’t know there are many different bra holsters on the market today.  It is assumed that the holster the woman in the story was using is one of the more popular bra holsters on the market that attaches to the front part of the bra.  From there the holstered gun is tucked under the wire part of the bra.  I have one of these holsters and use it from time to time.  If the gun is properly holstered with this particular model of holster it is impossible to shoot yourself in the face.

Yes, I said impossible.  I am not one to speak in absolutes, but let me tell you that there is something about this story that does not add up.   The assumed holster is made from a thermo plastic material and is a “clam shell” design, in which the entire trigger guard is very well protected.  It is so well protected because the holster is molded around the trigger guard.  The whole gun (except for the grips) is covered by the holster.    In order to holster your weapon you have to physically snap it into the holster.  To get the gun out you have to quickly and forcefully pull it out.  It won’t fall out on its own and it takes some technique to draw or remove the gun.

It is not difficult to use this holster, but if you are new to it, it can take a bit of practice.   The proper way to hostler your gun when using the assumed holster is to snap the rear part of the slide into the clam shell then with an upward pushing motion you secure or snap the muzzle into the clam shell.   This is done with your finger off the trigger and while grasping the holster at the top without your hand in front of the muzzle.   At no time should you point a loaded gun at any part of your body!  When fiddling with a new holster (if that was the case here) and gun combo it is imperative that you use a fully unloaded gun to work out the kinks.  Better yet, use a dummy gun!  This way you can be sure that you are being safe while you are working out the carry method.

When you are ready to move onto holstering a loaded gun, you must remember and make a point to keep your trigger finger as far away from the frame of the gun as you possible can.  This is also the way we recommend holstering guns into any holster that you may be using.  If we make a conscious effort to always keep that finger away from the frame and trigger, we can help to ensure our safety.

Keep your finger away from the gun when holstering it!

Keep your finger away from the gun when holstering it!

My opinion is that if the deceased  was using the type of holster that I am envisioning, then the holster could not have been being used properly.  If it was a different type of bra holster then  it is still likely that it was being used improperly, or it is also possible that the holster had a flawed design to begin with.  What appears to be more likely is that we have a woman who was not following the rules for safe gun handling.  We already know that breaking these rules can have catastrophic results.  Let’s take another quick look at what those rules are since we really can’t see them enough.

1. Treat every firearm as if it is fully loaded and ready to discharge.

2. Never point a firearm at anything you are not prepared to destroy.

3. Do not allow your trigger finger to be inside the  trigger guard unless and until you are in the very act of intentionally firing the weapon.

4. Always be certain of your target and what is beyond it.

It appears to me that the first three rules were broken and quite possible the last rule as well.  We may never know the full circumstances of this story.  I do know that I will continue to remind people of these safety rules every chance I get.  It is my obligation to follow these rules and help others to follow them as well.

If there are ladies along the Front Range who have questions about holsters etc …  I have a class for this stuff.  We spend lots of time on holsters and how they work.  I’d love to have you join me sometime.  You can check out the class here.

Be safe out there and Carry On, Colorado!

22 comments on “She did what?!

  1. wayne says:

    I saw this on a non-firearm forum and the first comment was “Was it a GLOCK?” Of course I had to respond to that since i have more than one GLOCK and i conceal carry. I knew about the “issues” with a GLOCK during my research and rented and fired my final selections before buying a 26. i wore it around the house for a month before taking it outside and now i do not feel complete if i leave the house without it. I also carry at home.
    oh i wanted to pull my hair out reading about the disarmeter woman carrying for 30 days,a GLOCK 9mm no less. i got the impression she never fired it, not even sure if she got ammo. what an idiot.

  2. Greg Nilges says:

    Well written. I agree with your assessment completely. I have seen posts on at least 2 FB pages attacking the design of the holster, over this fatal ND. One page was a VERY well respected defensive firearms trainer; the other was a fairly well known holster maker. In comments to both, I voiced my opinion that it was likely much more to do with a failure to follow the 4 cardinal rules than due to holster design. Keep up the great work!

  3. Marie says:

    Thousands of women carry in bra holsters every day with no problem. I personally don’t (doesn’t work with my shape–I’ll just leave it at that!). Any holster can be involved in an ND if it’s not being used properly. Whether the holster was faulty or not, this woman broke three of the cardinal rules of gun safety, and sadly, she paid for it with her life. Carrying a gun is no joke, and whatever kind of holster you use, you need to practice frequently on your draw and your reholster.

    • Jenna Meek says:

      I agree, Marie. Holsters are made to be used in very specific ways. If we fail at this the results can be catostrophic (they will also make headlines). Keeping the finger off the trigger while holstering is only one of the safety precautions we have to take! Carry On, Marie!

  4. Riley says:

    The problem with the design is where the muzzle comes to rest at , the same complaint lots of makers have with appendix carry . As a holster maker I would never endorse a Bra Holster . Plain and simple .

    • Jenna Meek says:

      Thanks for your comment, Riley! Does this mean that you also don’t endorse appendix carry? Many holsters, even when used properly have the gun pointed in the direction of a body part (take the glutes for example with a belt holster worn behind the hip). In my opinion this does not make the holster unsafe so long as the trigger guard is fully covered.

  5. Greewood Joe says:

    The holster in question points upwards between the breast and is grabbed from underneath.

    • Jenna Meek says:

      No, Greenwood Joe. the “assumed” holster does not point up between the breasts. It is made to fit under the wire part of the bra under the breasts. It should not point up, ever.

      • Greewood Joe says:

        And you know this how? There are a few out there that point straight up between the breasts as they conceal better. Are you sure that she didn’t have something like that?

      • Jenna Meek says:

        We don’the know what specific holster was used. I wrote about the most popular type of bra holster on the market. If you have information on the actual holster used would you mind sharing a link to it? I would love to be better informed! My earlier reply was just to set the record straight about the type of holster I wrote about.

  6. Jenna Meek says:

    Note from the Author: Let me clarify here that we do not know for sure what type of holster was specifically used in this incident. My article is based on an assumption that the media has made. I have been careful not to name a specific holster, but write about the proper way to use the assumed holster.

  7. chuck Gentry says:

    I called Bullshit on this and I stand by this statement , as a CCH Instructor, and 40 year LEO instructor

    • jeanne brown says:

      Chuck, what exactly are you calling bullshit on? Just because you are a CCH instructor and 40 year LEO doesn’t mean you know diddly about gun safety. Trust me if shot with several LEO’s who’s gun handling skills were terrible. I have yet to see a bra holster that has the gun pointing at your head. If there is on out there then I would hope that no one in the gun trade would recommend them. Every one I have seen has the gun perpendicular to the floor. Either way, until you have a full understanding how your equipment works you work through the kinks with an unloaded weapon! I think what the original writer meant was that bra holsters themselves are safe and that it was likely due to the woman being careless in following standard gun safety rules.

    • pax says:

      Chuck – how many bra holsters have you tried during those 40 years as a LEO instructor?

  8. Thank YOu!!! I have said since day 1…this is NOT the whole story!!

  9. DG says:

    I WAS WAITING FOR THIS TOPIC TO COME UP, HAD BOTH BARRELS LOADED! so to speak! Please, distinguish between REVOLVER and Semi!!! I WEAR A BRA HOLSTER EVERY DAY! I use the flashbangbra AND others plus one I made myself! I am an author, a senior citizen, plus I am a DOUBLE DD!! I have been wanting to write an article about this, but am busy with second book! My point, no pun intended, is that a revolver is a totally different animal. I read a long time ago how much pound pressure it takes to pull the trigger on a REVOLVER!…seems to me, of course depending on gun, that unless my boobs grow fingers, it should NEVER go off, much less go off towards my face????…let me reiterate…I WEAR IT EVERY DAY, IN MY BOOBS!!! I am very active and I’m a senior citizen!!! I can ride horses, run after dogs, with dogs, train my dogs…row a boat, vacuum….wash car, clean the barn, haul feed, hay, etc. you get the picture…even in the summer, it is tucked in- between the DD’s!…won’t go into how I handle the heat and all now! The bra holstering may not be made for LE or competition, but it sure feels safe to me…it has NEVER fallen out and it has ALWAYS passed a frisk! hahaha…had a new smart ass trooper friend tease me about carrying, he couldn’t find my gun! My CCL trainer too! Men! lmao….so to me, boobs are made for more than drooling over or giving milk!…

    • Jenna Meek says:

      DG, you go girl! But seriously, gun safety is no different for revolvers than it is for semi-autos. I don’the care what the trigger pull weight is, keep your finger off the trigger unless and until you are in the very act of firing the weapon! Also, please tell me that your homemade holster covers the entire trigger guard.

      Stay sassy!

  10. pcav2001 says:

    Good commo. The one time I bumped into a bra weapon I was promptly told to get my hand clear. I have also seen several types of thigh holsters that work well.

Leave a Reply

