How do I prepare for what may come my way?

Boy, if had a nickel for every time I was asked this question by a student, friend, acquaintance, or even people who I have just met who find out “what it is that I do for work”, well I’d be taking a lot more classes with all that money!

People always want to know how they can be mentally prepared (the physical part of this is a different beast) for all different possible scenarios in which they might have to fight for their lives.

Today I want to address an answer to this question.  It’s not my answer, but it really is brilliant, and quite simple.  I wish I had thought of this.

Jeff and I keep training journals of all the classes we take and even of some of the stuff that happens in the classes that we teach.  From time to time, I like to review my notes to keep on top of things.  Usually this is met with a ho-hum “ok, we’re good, I know this stuff” outcome.  But today, I read something that hit me like a ton of bricks and I wanted to share it.

Last spring I had a chance to meet Tom Givens of Rangemaster and sit in a lecture that he gave.  Tom has taught a huge percentage of concealed carry permit holders in Memphis.  He is known as he instructor with the most students that have been in gun fights.  I am not sure that this is a badge of honor, but it is certainly noteworthy for a host of reasons.  Not the least of which is that Tom always gets to interview his students after an incident.  So he knows what the situations were and how the scenarios played out.  He can break down any of the statistics you ever wanted to know about how many attackers there were, whether the attack happened at home or away from home, he knows if more attacks happened at night or during the day and at what distances the attacks happened.  All of this information is valuable to help us learn about what possible deadly force encounters might look like if they were to happen to us some day.

20150106_214124 (1)

The point is that while reading my notes tonight I came across this gem: “Why dream up far-fetched scenarios?  Examine what actually happens every year”.  Yes, this!  There are entities who publish lists with this information.  The BJS (Bureau of Justice Statistics), CBI Crime Reports, and the FBI Agent Involved Shootings are all excellent sources of this type of information.

So, the next time you wonder what lethal force encounters may look like in real  life, take Tom’s Advice and read about real life incidents and learn from those.

Hey, have I mentioned that Tom is coming to Colorado to teach a class for us in July?  Consider joining us!

Carry On, Colorado!

Leave a Reply

