Living with things you hate… or hating things you can live with

News flash: there are no perfect guns!  [I’ll pause for dramatic effect]  I know, I know, I just rained on your parade.

So many of us spend WAAAAYY too much time Googling, watching stupid You Tube videos, asking advice from people you hardly know (and then ignoring advice from some of those very close to you who happen to be firearms instructors… not that that would ever happen), browsing hundreds of pages of useless ramblings, and who knows what else – all because you can’t decide between a Glock or a 1911.

I dare you to Google this sometime and see how much of this nonsense you can get through

I dare you to Google this sometime and see how much of this nonsense you can get through

But I have good news!  The gun you want DOES exist.  Here’s the catch: you have to find a gun with disadvantages you’re willing to live with.

None of us wants to face up to the reality that every gun (and every holster, and every car, every cowboy hat… actually hold on, I can’t think of many good things about cowboy hats at all – they, umm, keep the rain off your face when you’re driving the cattle to market?  If you’re stuck in the desert with a cowboy hat and it rains suddenly, you have a place to store water?) has a nuance or 9 that we don’t like.  I’ll give you an example of what I’m talking about.

Everyone who has taken one of my classes knows that I carry a Springfield XD(M) 3.8 Compact.  I LOVE that gun.  How much do I love it?  So much so that when the government finally comes to confiscate my guns, they’re getting this one last.  And I’d be tempted to melt it down before that happens just so I would have the pleasure of knowing that I controlled its final ending instead of a half-brained… er… sorry, instead of an anti-gun bureaucrat.

But that’s not to say it’s not without its flaws.  I have to say, I’ve really cooled to the idea of a grip safety on a handgun.  I get why it exists, but I really just don’t see the point anymore.  I can’t for the life of me figure out why the handgun design gurus in Croatia opted to include that chunk of wasted effort and space.

The one flaw with the XD(M)

But here’s the thing: I can live with it.  I love the rest of the gun SO MUCH (maybe even THIS much), that I can overlook something as awful as a grip safety.  That’s the key: can you live with the features you hate?  Or will you just end up hating the whole thing?

Here’s another example: teeny guns.  They have their place in the world and many of us carry them everyday because we prefer keeping our day jobs – and that means we have to dress a certain way, look a certain way, etc.  But most of us will buy a gun because of a feature or two that we really like – and we skip right over the parts we hate.

When you’re standing in a gun store, when the adrenaline is pumping, when your money has nearly literally now burned a hole through your pocket, it is VERY hard to see the flaws in anything.  In fact, if you ever have bad news to give to your significant other, my suggestion is bring him/her to the gun store first – bad news is never bad news when surrounded by the smell of Hoppes #9.

But when you’re holding that Ruger LCP, just be aware that all the things that you like about it (that it’s a teeny gun) also happen to be some of it’s biggest flaws (it’s a teeny gun): it doesn’t fit very many hands comfortably, the spring tension is crazy tight (teeny guns need tighter spring tensions to function properly), the trigger is awful, you’ll feel the recoil more, it only holds a handful of cartridges, yada yada yada.  You get the point.  BUT, if you’re willing to live with those disadvantages, then it’s the perfect gun for you.

So next time you’re in the market for a gun, don’t look for things you want – look for those things you hate that you can deal with.  Your list just got a lot shorter, didn’t it?

4 comments on “Living with things you hate… or hating things you can live with

  1. I was with you until the cowboy hat comment. (felt in winter, straw in summer)

  2. Jim Konzak says:

    Jeff – kudos on your blog from a new reader.
    Your reference to Hoppe’s #9 leads me to ask what you’d recommend in a cleaning kit. I’m owner of a new Glock 19 (not even fired yet – ammo shortage you know). My lovely wife just got a Ruger LCP, so it would ideally be good for a semi-auto and a revolver.

  3. Great question, Jim. I’ll write an article about this sometime. The kits themselves are largely the same (and important – the tools in those kits are very useful). You can get the kits nearly everywhere, including most gun stores. As for the cleaner and lubricant, I got hooked on http://slip2000.com/. I love their 725 degreaser and they have a few different kinds of lubricant (we use the EWL, but I’m sure all are good). You can find that stuff at brownells or maybe other places as well, or direct from their website. I’m not saying Slip 2000 is the best, I just found one I like. So we’ve stocked up on both the degreaser and the lubricant, then we buy those little patches in bulk from a place like Cabela’s.

    The other cleaners like Break-free CLP are good, so if that’s all you have handy, don’t be shy.

    That’s probably more info than you wanted, but hopefully that helps. Experiment around and you guys will probably settle in on something you like.

    Great question!

  4. […] can live with.  I am not alone in this line of thinking, Jeff agrees with me.  I may have even borrowed this concept from […]

Leave a Reply

